Macedonia

Travel || Skopje, Macedonia

IMG_0088.JPG

My main idea was to travel directly from Bulgaria to Prizren, Kosovo. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find any information on bus times in Macedonia. So I decided to stay one night at Skopje, the capital of Macedonia.

Well, what can I say? First of all, my hostel was great and the hosts were lovely. They were very helpful and nice and I wish that would be my first impression of Macedonia, instead of the crowded Lake Ohrid area a couple of years ago.

The city itself is very…interesting. The last couple of years the government decided to built all kinds of monuments in the city centre. And in my (humble) opinion, I think they exsaturated a bit. There is a nice bazaar, though. And a Kalaja, but it was way too hot for that.

I didn’t take a lot of pictures, but these pictures show a least an impression of the city.

IMG_0089-0.JPG

IMG_0090-0.JPG

IMG_0091-0.JPG

IMG_0092-0.JPG

IMG_0096.JPG

IMG_0095.JPG

IMG_0093.JPG

IMG_0094.JPG

Oh, the monument on the first picture? It lights up at night. In all the colors of the rainbow.

IMG_0097.JPG

Okay, now I sounded a bit negative about Macedonia maybe.
But there is also good stuff:
– The food! It’s delicious and very cheap. And a paradise for veggies.
– The wine! You have to try it once.
– There a some nice places to see as well. Matka Canyon for example and Lake Prespa is beautiful and more peaceful than Lake Ohrid.

So, if you like to see all the monument madness, go check it out! It has been fun for one day. (:

One thought on “Travel || Skopje, Macedonia

Leave a Reply

