Uncategorized

The Big Black Hole

Okay, normally I would just write about the things I did and see while traveling and about my internship. But since I am home now for a while, I feel the need to write about that too. It’s not a happy post though, so be warned.

When I was still traveling, I have read about the black hole when you come back home from fellow travelers. So when I decided to go back home, I prepared myself a little for these feelings. Little did I know that the feelings you get could be quite intense. And stay for a long time. I have been back for little over a month now and I get the idea that it only gets worse. And I ‘only’ traveled for a couple of months. Imagine how it must feel when you get back from a year round trip or even longer…

While traveling, it is common knowledge that you get to know yourself a lot better. Which is not weird off course, especially when you are traveling alone. You know if you are capable to adapt to different ways things are going in an other country, how to handle trouble (especially as a solo female traveller) and just how to rely on yourself in sometimes difficult situations. Or learn that you actually can be a very social person, while you were just a little shy in your own enviroment and can have the greatest time with people you just met. Too be short: When traveling you really can learn how to be yourself. Which is great!

But then you go home. And everything has changed for you. You give yourself a week to adapt to the life there and start working again, because you are totally broke. You also need to finish a lot of school work, so busy times are ahead for you. But the only thing you can think of, are the things you experienced while traveling. And the only people who would truly understand you and your feelings, are your fellow travelers you have met on the way and who are miles away. It’s a bit like living in another world. Being culture shocked in your own enviroment.

I really wonder how long these feelings are going to stay. Anyway, I think it’s time to plan my next trip! Oh, and the next posts will be much more positive again because it’s about my month long trip through Romania (:.

Leave a Reply

